The OBO Foundry Operations Committee discusses, oversees, and ensures the completion of the fundamental day-to-day activities of the Foundry. The Committee is composed of three working groups. Anyone who is active in a working group (active being based on both attendance at WG meetings and actual work done for working groups) is considered a member of the Operations Committee.


Membership in working groups: T=technical working group, O=outreach working group, E=editorial working group

Current members of the OBO Foundry Operations Committee are (in alphabetical order of surname):

  • Mathias Brochhausen (O), Department of Biomedical Informatics, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Little Rock, AR, USA
  • Melanie Courtot (O, T), EMBL-EBI, Cambridge, UK
  • Melissa Haendel (O), Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR
  • Simon Jupp (T), European Bioinformatics Institute, Cambridge, UK
  • James Malone, FactBio, Cambridge, UK
  • Chris Mungall, (T) Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, USA
  • Darren Natale (E) Georgetown University Medical Center, Washington DC, USA
  • James A. Overton (T), Knocean Inc., Toronto, Canada
  • Bjoern Peters (E)
  • Philippe Rocca-Serra (E, O), University of Oxford e-Research Centre, Department of Engineering Science, Oxford, UK.
  • Alan Ruttenberg (O, T), University at Buffalo, Buffalo, USA
  • Richard Scheuermann (O), J. Craig Venter Institute, La Jolla, CA, USA
  • Lynn Schriml (E, O), University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • Barry Smith (O)
  • Chris Stoeckert (E, O), University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Randi Vita (E, T)
  • Ramona Walls (E, T), CyVerse, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ, USA
  • Jie Zheng (T, O), University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA


  • Michael Ashburner
  • Colin Batchelor (E), Royal Society of Chemistry, UK
  • Janna Hastings (E, O)
  • Suzi Lewis, (O, T) Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, USA
  • Susanna-Assunta Sansone